Pitching FAQ
Can | protest a pitcher who is over his innings on the next pitch after he has reached his
max innings?

NO, you have to let him record an out above his pitching limits and he has to be the pitcher of record to
win the protest. If he has been replaced as the pitcher, you have missed your chance to protest.

If a pitcher is over his innings and he is in the dugout on offense, can | protest with that
team being on offense?

Yes, you can, that player is still the pitcher of record.

If | remove a pitcher from the game, can he re-enter as a pitcher?

NO, once any pitcher is removed from the pitcher position, he can not re-enter to pitch that game

If a pitcher is pitching on Saturday and gives up a double play, which puts him at 3 1/3
innings, can he pitch the next day?

NO, double play outs count towards the pitcher’s limits with regards to the eligibility to pitch the next day.

If a pitcher is pitching on Sunday and gives up a double play, which puts him over the
maximum allowed innings, will that result in a forfeit?

NO, a double play will not be counted against the pitcher towards exceeding his pitching limits.

Pitching Rules to Keep in Mind

You can never pitch more than 3 days in a row.
You can never pitch more than 6 innings in a day for 12 and under and 7 in a day for 13 and up.
If you pitch more than 3 innings in a day, you must rest the next day.

There is an 8 inning max for any three days for all ages. Remember, you must always look back
2 days from the current day to check on the 8 Inning max.

An out has to be recorded before a pitcher is in violation of any pitching rules.
A day of rest does not reset pitching

Pitching Rules are ultimately the Manager's Responsibility

Any verbal answers received by park staff will still be the responsibility of the coach to make sure
he is within the pitching guidelines. It is easy to be confused when talking about pitching. Please
use this along with the national USSSA rule book to determine what pitching you have left each
day. There are no free passes on pitching violations for any reason. Don’t ask umpires about
pitching rules. That is not their job. This is the responsibility of the manager and there are no
acceptable reasons to violate the pitching limits. You will forfeit if protested for being over the
pitching limits.



